Being Human


Image

Hath not a Jew eyes? Hath not a Jew hands, organs,
dimensions, senses, affections, passions? Fed with
the same food, hurt with the same weapons, subject
to the same diseases, healed by the same means,
warmed and cooled by the same winter and summer, as
a Christian is? If you prick us, do we not bleed?
If you tickle us, do we not laugh? If you poison
us, do we not die? And if you wrong us, shall we not
revenge? If we are like you in the rest, we will
resemble you in that. 

-Shylock’s speech from The Merchant of Venice by Shakespeare

By the time you read through this post, you will hopefully get the meaning behind why I included Shylock’s speech. Just as a heads-up, it’s not about being Jew or Christian.

I  don’t always agree with or even have the same thoughts, beliefs, or understanding of things the way that others who identify as Pagans, Witches, or Wiccans do. I’ve written about my thoughts on things like “Familiars” and why I don’t see using that word to describe an animal companion, even a magical one, is correct. I’ve written about how I don’t think that being responsible stewards or caretakers of the planet means we are going to “save the earth”. She’s a big girl and will outlive and outlast all of us. I think that Wicca and Witchcraft are the same thing and fall on the side of thinking that it isn’t correct to separate one into being ‘religion’ and the other ‘practice’ and doing so opens up the potential to unravel a lot of hard work.

I also don’t believe in otherkin/therianthropes, star/indigo children, or vampires (sanguine or energy) outside of a person’s own mixed-up thoughts and behaviors. Meaning, you and others who are of a like mind may believe you are one of these things. I don’t doubt that doing so makes it very real for you. But, you aren’t going to physically change your form into a mermaid, a wolf, or some other non-human life form. There aren’t a certain number of ‘souls’ that decided to come to this world, usually from another planet or the Cosmos/Universe itself, who don’t fit in just so that they can be the saviors of mankind. You are not required to drink blood or take the life force from another to live, nor are you required to exist as a nocturnal creature or face an ashy demise. I also think people are very mixed up about what it means to be empathic, placing it in the realm of some sort of superpower ability.

Along with this, I don’t think that aliens from other planets are responsible for the pyramids or any other feat of ancient architecture and science, but that’s another thing entirely, I just felt like saying so.

Just as a disclaimer, because I think it’s interesting, I personally would qualify to be an Indigo Child based on the information I have come across, and that’s not stretching it at all. If you know me, and read about this phenomena, I’m sure you’d see the same correlations I do. So, please don’t misunderstand my disbelief in this concept as hinging upon any sort of envy.

I think that these sorts of beliefs arise from a deep-seated need to feel special. On the surface level, there is nothing wrong with this desire. It is what sources the need to do something in our lives, to be better, stronger, faster, smarter, etc. than those that surround us or have come before us. This deeply rooted purpose is what lay behind and beneath our greatest accomplishments and highest goals. But, like everything, there are two sides to the pendulum’s swing. This motivation is also what brings about the worst in people. If someone can’t get attention through positive means, then they go with what is left to them and cause problems, bully others, or perform acts that are even worse. Other than the exceptional hermit, man is a social animal and depends upon others for its survival.

This is one of the things that must exist within and without a person in balance in order to be used correctly, safely, and effectively. Too much or too little in one direction or the other is what leads to problems.

For those who feel this desire very strongly, and also have a creative and vivid imagination, the magical arts and the Pagan religions are a huge lure. By their very nature, such things appeal to those who don’t quite fit in with the average understanding of things. And there are some people who have specific talents or gifts that remain a mystery in conventional society. They may also find themselves upon a mystical path. This is a good thing, because these abilities are what empowers and helps to actualize the flow of magical energy.

But being a mystic or magician, a Pagan or a Witch, does not mean that you entirely let go of rational thought and realism. Yes, you shape your own reality in this life, but you also exist in the reality shaped by others. This means you obey physical and natural laws because that is how this world, this plane of existence is set up.

I think the other thing that brings about this desire in people is the feeling that being human is boring. To my mind, this is absolute insanity. Whether you believe that man is a created being or an evolved one from earlier forms of life, what we are now is pretty damn impressive. Provided that we can survive another thousand years, I think we will achieve amazing things and really build on what is best about humanity.

It’s been my experience that people who consider themselves to be one of the things I listed earlier feel uncomfortable in their own skin, like they are misplaced. I think everyone goes through that feeling at some point or another in their lifetime. It’s normal and a part of the human experience, it’s how we seek and find, how we learn and grow. But I think the important thing is still to grow and change and manifest as a human being.

Yep, just be an ordinary human. Not a fey, otherkin, vampire, star/indigo/crystal-being from some other distant place, or someone with unnatural ‘powers’.

So speaking of ‘powers’ I am going to digress a bit and touch upon something I mentioned above: empathy.

I am an empathic person. If compared to others in my peer group, which is to say everyone I have ever personally known in my life, I am probably in the top-tier of being an empathic person. I know this, not because I can mystically sense what someone else is feeling, because I think everyone can do that if they tune in to another person, but because I have such strong emotional responses to things that I’m not directly involved in. Let me give you some examples that prove I am an empathic person. Here goes… read and be amazed…

I can watch a movie or television show and get angry, upset, sad, happy, scared, or weirded out by what is going on. I also have this ability when I read a book, article, essay, or some other story form. I can put myself directly into the teller’s brain and live vicariously through them for the length of the tale or experience. When friends or family feel something very strongly, I can absolutely relate, and the more they open up and share what they feel, the more I feel it too. When a friend is angry and tells me what happened that caused his anger, I feel angry as well. Likewise, when a family member shares news, happy or sad, I feel that way too even though it might not have diddly-squat to do with me personally.

There. I am an empath. Aren’t I special and amazing?

Not really. I’m human. I’m socially adjusted to feeling and relating to others of my species. Every mentally or emotionally healthy person does this. Let me specify again the word HEALTHY. This means that if you do not have this sort of ability or reaction, even in the slightest that you have an emotional or mental disorder that could range anywhere from Asperger Syndrome to being a sociopath. So now, being empathic isn’t special. It isn’t some weird, mystical ability. It is normal. It is expected. It is entirely human. You may be more or less empathic than another person, but it’s not the amazing magical talent that people want to believe it is. If you are exceptionally sensitive, yes, you may need to work on distancing yourself a bit from heavily emotional situations, and work on mental or emotional exercises to solidify and enhance your own emotional or mental state.

I grow very weary of people who with one breath say, “We are all One. We are all the same. We are all connected.” And with their next, will move on to explain some way that they are different, most often by means of one of these things or a variation of one of these things. Yes, we are all connected. That’s why empathy exists.

If you identify as one of these sorts of people, be totally honest with yourself in asking why that is so. If you were ever asked to prove it, to shape-shift into another creature, to fall to the point of near-death, hooked up to machines that would record your heart and brain activity, because you didn’t drink blood or suck someone’s energy for sustenance and then become revived when you did, or step up and actually BE the savior of mankind that the people who claim to be star/indigo/crystal children are supposed to be, because I personally think that is all a bunch of B.S. excuses on letting someone else do the work for us. “Oh, well, there is a generation of sparkly kids and adults out there whose entire reason for existence is to elevate our consciousness and bring this planet into a new era of light and love and peace and unicorn poop…”

Get over it. Be the wonderful person you are. Embrace with joy the ability to interact with our world and the Divine as deeply and magnificently as we can. Set goals that will improve your life and the lives of those around you, and even the world at large, and follow through on them. Do this, not because you are some sort of non-human, but because you are human.

One thought on “Being Human

  1. Hi! 😀 I just wanted to completement your blog. I really liked it and I added you to my “Recommended blogs” list on my blog ( so I hope you don’t mind. Wonderful to see someone putting so much effort into something like you are 🙂 keep up the great work! 😀

    Yours,
    Witch’s Cat

    Like

Leave a Reply

